Quick Answer: What Are The 11 Grounds Of Discrimination?

What are the grounds for human right?

Human rights are universal,.

Every individual is entitled to enjoy his or her human rights without distinction of “race” or ethnic background, colour, sex, sexual orientation, disability, language, religion, political or other opinion, national or social origin, birth or other status..

Does discrimination include intersecting grounds?

And they are more likely to be under-employed, unemployed and live in poverty. Discrimination based on a disability could intersect with discrimination based on other Code grounds, including: race, colour or ethnic background. creed.

What are considered to be grounds of discrimination?

3 (1) For all purposes of this Act, the prohibited grounds of discrimination are race, national or ethnic origin, colour, religion, age, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, marital status, family status, genetic characteristics, disability and conviction for an offence for which a pardon has been …

What are the 15 grounds of discrimination?

The Alberta Human Rights Act (AHR Act) prohibits discrimination in employment based on the protected grounds of race, colour, ancestry, place of origin, religious beliefs, gender, gender identity, gender expression, age, physical disability, mental disability, marital status, family status, source of income, and sexual …

What is not considered discrimination?

“The principle of non-discrimination seeks “to guarantee that human rights are exercised without discrimination of any kind based on race, colour, sex, language, religion, political or other opinion, national or social origin, property, birth or other status such as disability, age, marital and family status, sexual …

What can you do if you have a human rights complaint?

We can only accept written complaints. You can make a complaint online at www.humanrights.gov.au/complaints/make-complaint . If you prefer, you can print off a complaint form, fill it in and post it to us at GPO Box 5218, Sydney NSW 2001 or fax it to 02 9284 9611.

What are the 20 protected classes?

Federal protected classes include:Race.Color.Religion or creed.National origin or ancestry.Sex (including gender, pregnancy, sexual orientation, and gender identity).Age.Physical or mental disability.Veteran status.More items…

Do you have a right to not be discriminated against?

The Human Rights Act makes it illegal to discriminate on a wide range of grounds including ‘sex, race, colour, language, religion, political or other opinion, national or social origin, association with a national minority, property, birth or other status’.

What are the 11 main discrimination categories?

What is unlawful workplace discrimination?race.colour.sex.sexual orientation.age.physical or mental disability.marital status.family or carer’s responsibilities.More items…

What are the 13 protected grounds?

13 protected grounds of discriminationRace.Colour.Ancestry.Place of origin.Religious beliefs.Gender.Physical disability.Mental disability.More items…

What are the 7 types of discrimination?

Types of DiscriminationAge Discrimination.Disability Discrimination.Sexual Orientation.Status as a Parent.Religious Discrimination.National Origin.Sexual Harassment.Race, Color, and Sex.More items…

What is the direct discrimination?

Direct discrimination This is when you are treated worse than another person or other people because: … someone thinks you have that protected characteristic (known as discrimination by perception) you are connected to someone with that protected characteristic (known as discrimination by association)

Add a comment